Skip to main content

Before you can visit Tanzania you will need to acquire a tourist visa before entry. Whether you want to visit Mainland Tanzania or the Indian Ocean Islands that are part of Tanzania, you must have a visa allowing you to enter the country for a while.

Unless you come from one of the countries whose citizens are visa-exempt, you will need to have a visa before being allowed formal entry into Tanzania.

In this article, we'll explore what is required for your visa processing and what options you have. We'll also look at which places are exempt from a Tanzania visa.

tanzania visa

Tanzania Visa Requirements

Before applying for the ordinary (Single Entry) visa, you should make sure you have the following requirements in order.

  • Current passport with at least 6 months validity
  • Duly filled declaration form
  • Yellow fever vaccination certificate (if from certain places. more below)
  • Visa processing fees

Tanzania Visa Process

You can obtain a visa to Tanzania in one of the 3 ways. You can visit a nearby embassy for your visa, apply online for the e-visa or you could apply for a visa on arrival.

Most countries and territories can apply online which is the most flexible method that you can do anytime, anywhere.

Countries whose citizens receive the referral visa do not have the option to apply for visas on arrival in Tanzania and must therefore apply online or at the nearest embassy. 

Here is the official Government of Tanzania Visa Portal.

Tanzania visa application form

The whole process of applying for a visa should take no more than 10 days. Therefore you should plan your application ahead of time to avoid last-minute panic over the status of your visa. It is always better to have it all sorted ahead of time.

Tanzania Visa Fees

The ordinary visitor's visa for Tanzania costs 50 USD and allows for a single entry into the country for up to 90 days. For those looking to get a multiple entry visa, the cost is 100 USD per person.

Visa For Americans

Visitors from the United States of America who intend to visit Tanzania are not entitled to the ordinary single-entry visa. Americans can therefore only get a multiple entry visa into Tanzania that allows for several visits within a period of 12 months.

Each stay must however not exceed 3 months at a time. The cost of the Multiple entry visa fee is 100 USD.

Required Vaccination

All visitors intending to visit Tanzania from Yellow fever endemic countries must have a valid Yellow fever certificate. The yellow fever shot is a one-time vaccine that is required by most African countries.

tanzania visa exemption

Tanzania Visa Exemption

Citizens of the following countries can visit Tanzania without a visa and can stay as long as 90 days. All that is needed is valid documents and a yellow fever vaccination certificate.

  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Anguilla
  • Ashmore & Certie Island
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Belize
  • Brunei
  • British Virgin Island
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Botswana
  • Cyprus
  • Cayman Island
  • Channel Island
  • Cocoas Island
  • Cook Island
  • Christmas Island
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Island
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • Heard Island
  • Hong Kong
  • Isle of man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Montserrat
  • Malaysia
  • Madagascar
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Macao
  • Mozambique
  • Nauru
  • Naue Island
  • Norfolk Island
  • Namibia
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Romania
  • Ross Dependency
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Eswatini (Swaziland)
  • Solomon Island
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vicent
  • St. Helana
  • South Africa
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos
  • Tokelan
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Visa Required (Referral Visa)

Travellers from the following countries must have their visas before arriving in Tanzania. This means that the following countries can not obtain a visa on arrival as it has to be approved by the commissioner of Immigration.

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Chad
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyigten Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Palestine
  • Senegal
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Somali land
  • Sierra Leone
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Stateless persons or refugees

Final Thoughts

Tanzania's visa process is quite easy and the requirements are not very hard to meet. The online e-visa portal makes applying for a visa to visit Tanzania much quicker and more convenient.

As with any country, the visa policy can always change with very little notice.

This is why we advise you to try and complete the process ahead of time so that if there are any changes, you will have the time to accommodate them. This is one of the things that make the e-visa option so good because you have the flexibility of time and place.

Related Articles