Skip to main content

When traveling internationally, you are generally required to apply for a visa that will allow you entry into the country. While Australians can visit all countries in Africa, most countries will require getting a visa.

Australian citizens can visit 9 countries in Africa without needing a visa. These countries have agreements with Australia to make sure that Australians can enter much easier for a certain period of time.

In this short article, we'll look at which African countries allow visa-free entry for citizens of Australia.

AU visa-free

Visa-Free African Countries For Australians

Australians can visit the following countries without the need for a tourist visa. Different countries allow a given duration for visa-free entrants.

Make sure you plan accordingly to stay within the provision of the free visa.

Country   Duration  Terms 
1.   Botswana   90 Days  Within a single calendar year. 
2.   Eswatini (Swaziland)   30 Days  
3.   The Gambia  90 Days  
4.   Lesotho  14 Days  
5.   Mauritius  90 Days  
6.   Morocco  90 Days  
7.   Namibia  90 Days  
8.   South Africa  90 Days  
9.   Tunisia  90 Days  

Most of the countries above allow for visa-free entry for a period of not more than 90 days. Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) allows for 30-day visa-free entry while Lesotho allows for only 14 days.

Depending on where you are going, make sure your plans align with your allowed duration. All the various countries have clear processes for extending your visa should you need to.

Final Thoughts

As with all visa agreements and requirements, governments reserve the right to impose new changes as well as allow or deny entry. Before setting off for your trip to any of the above countries, make sure to look at the relevant government websites to be completely certain of the prevailing terms.

Here is the link for african travel advice from the Australian government on their smartraveller website.

Related Articles