Skip to main content

Sometimes, you will need your trip to visit several countries in the same region. In the case of East Africa, this can be done in Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda using one multiple-entry visa that would allow you to visit any of the 3 countries as you want.

East Africa is packed full of very interesting attractions and for some travellers, the best way to see it all is to, visit the various countries on the same safari.

E-A Tourist visa flags

If you are someone who wants to visit either or all of the countries of Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda, this article will give you an insight into why you should use the East African Tourist visa and what is required of you.

What Is East Africa Tourist Visa

The East Africa Tourist Visa is a single entry visa for foreigners who are visiting any combination of the East African countries of Uganda, Kenya, and Rwanda. The visa allows free and multiple movements through any of the above 3 countries but doesn't allow multiple entries if you go out of the applicable countries.

The visa is a result of a joint initiative by all the involved countries to encourage tourists to easily explore the beauty of nature and the diversity of culture in East Africa.

Where Can You Go With East Africa Tourist Visa?

With the East African Visa, you can go to Uganda, Kenya, and Rwanda for a period of up to 90 days (3 months) from the date of issue.

East Africa Visa Requirements

Here is what you should have prepared before applying for the East Africa Tourist Visa.

  • Valid passport with at least 6 months of validity
  • Recent passport-sized photography
  • Travel itinerary & return ticket
  • Visa Fees (100 days)

East African Visa Fees

The cost of getting a single East African Tourist Visa is 100 USD. Since the Visa allows multiple entries and exists within the East African Community States, you save money on visa fees as each country charges 50 USD for a single visa.

EA Tourist visa card

How To Get an East African Visa

You can obtain an East African tourist visa from any of the 3 countries - Uganda, Kenya, and Rwanda. You can do this manually by visiting the nearest embassy or consulate or applying online via any of the official government portals of the respective countries.

Please note that you should apply for this East African visa from the country where your multi-country East African Safari starts.

Final Thoughts

This East Africa Visa is a great cost and time-saving initiative for foreigners who are visiting any two or all of the three countries of Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda. As a tourist, you can choose where to start and how to organize your itinerary without any restriction on entry and exit - as long as you don't leave these countries.

This is a perfect visa that would work well for solo self-travellers who want to spend some time exploring East Africa.

If you are visiting just one country, you honestly don't need to get this East African visa, because it is twice as expensive as the single-country visas of Uganda, Rwanda or Kenya.

Related articles